top of page

Great Ways to Ensure You Enjoy the Most Out of Your Reading Time


I personally always try to add all of these tips together before I begin to read a book, or two, and they always work for me! That being said I'm a coffee guy so I also have to personally add that into my own list, yet I know that doesn't work for everyone so I've emitted it from my suggestions.

1. Make sure that all other distractions are turned off. I always try to read in a room where there isn't a TV or computer because I will almost always want to watch a new show or check on what's going on in the world around me. Which is a killer for a great reading session. You need to be completely immersed in your book, and to do that you need to be in your own world. I find that music will help me at times too, but that can also be a distraction for many, so if that's the case for you I definitely suggest turning it off if you find yourself checking which song is playing or if you re-read your sentences over and over again!Turn off your ringer for your phone, and turn on a quiet alarm if you have a limited time for reading. You don't want a loud alarm breaking your trance as your characters are finding out what their purpose truly is or as they kiss their love interest for the first time! I personally set my alarm to a quiet melody of birds chirping, Maybe I should turn it into owls hooting, since it'll feel like background noise from the scene, but I'll know it's time to stop reading.

2. Sit somewhere comfortable! I can't stress this enough as I've sat on a hard wooden chair at the cafe for hours to read many times, and found myself in a hurry to finish what i'm reading and head back home. Don't get me wrong I love reading at the cafe with my cup of coffee, but sitting in an uncomfortable chair is just another distraction as your body will constantly nag at you while you're trying to adventure with your books protagonist. I find it best to sit on a comfortable cushioned chair on a wooden porch overlooking a mountainside or forest in a foggy atmosphere, but hey that's just me. I know many people feel comfortable on their coach, and I'm all for that too! Even better is to have a cushioned window nook to sit in as you read. It's great to have nature in plain view while also reading your book. Since both things are great stimulators for your mind, and most of us readers are all for that!

3. Always keep a list of books you want to read and in what order. This will allow you to quickly and easily find a great book for you to pick up and read. Many of us know what our interests are when it comes to books, but sometimes it's hard to pick which ones we want to read at the moment. With so many book options it's hard to just sit down and say "This is the book I want to read today". It's even harder to shop for a book at the book store because I find almost 30 potential books in less than five minutes, and I have to somehow decide on one at a time (Because i'm a broke college student). It's always fun to make a list of books you want to read next too, so that you know why you're reading the book you're reading, and you'll be able to look forward to the next book/reading session you sit down for. Hopefully in a comfortable place without distractions!

4. If you don't enjoy what you're reading just put it down. You can't enjoy your reading session if you are struggling to make it to the finish line. There is never a book you have to read, other than when you're in school, and you have every right to set it down if it's not for you. There are plenty of books out there for you to choose from, and if you've made a reading list then you're all set for the next book to pick up in it's place. That way you'll be able to smile as you read along, and if anyone asks how your day went, you can answer with a much nicer tone than you would with that boring book you were reading before!

5. Keep your head up. I find this to be very important because there's nothing worse than having a cranked neck and a migraine after you're done reading. I know the picture above doesn't show an elevated book but bare with me. Keep your neck straight and your book in a field of vision suitable for such reading. I know this can be very difficult to do, but as you practice doing it you'll notice it gets easier. It doesn't seem as comfortable as you read, but there is a solution to this. Why don't you try to lay back with a pillow under your head and have the book above you? That way you're comfortable and your neck will have support. Your arm may get tired from time to time, but try switching your reading arm and let the other one rest and repeat. If that makes you too comfortable and drowsy then sitting up will help with that issue. Especially as you keep your neck high and alert.

Thank you very much for reading the the tips I provided today, and I hope they were all help to improve your reading habits. If you have any reading suggestions don't hesitate to send me an email(hoot) located in my about me section! Have a great weekend and make sure to fly back to the blog nest again soon. There'll always be more to read!

FEATURED REVIEW
bottom of page